Edamame Pesto Recipe

This is another of my favorite, easy go-to recipes. It’s so good that I lick it right out of the blender/eat it on a spoon. Plus, it is a pasta sauce that you can feel good about slathering all over.

This is from the Appetite for Reduction cookbook. It’s a wonderful cookbook that focuses on reducing calories, fat, but most importantly: number of ingredients. And it’s all plant based. It’s $3 used on Amazon. Definitely worth it.

Ingredients:
– 2 cloves garlic, chopped
– 1 cup packed basil leaves
– 1 (14-ounce) package shelled edamame, thawed
– 1/2 cup vegetable broth (see my money saving, green TIP below)
– 2 tbs lemon juice
– 1 tsp olive oil (usually I use more for flavor and to get my blender blendin’)
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 2 tbs nutritional yeast (optional, see below)

Add all ingredients to blender and blend. That easy. Add more vegetable broth and/or oil if it’s too dry or stiff. This will be a thick sauce though. Then, add a hefty serving to pasta with sauteed veggies of choice (I usually go for red pepper, broccoli, mushrooms).

So, my tip on vegetable broth: I used vegetable broth pretty often when I cook. But sometimes not often enough to be able to use up the full carton before it goes bad (I generally buy the 32oz close-able carton versus a can… not anymore. Enter vegetable bouillon. You can get cubes or a paste to store in the fridge. You just add the specified amount to water, mix and you’ve got your vegetable broth! It stays good for longer, so you’re not wasting product and all the packaging every time you need to buy it. That’s why I prefer paste over individually wrapped cubes.

A note on nutritional yeast: I was first introduced to this about a year ago when someone made me a vegan baked ziti. They had used nutritional yeast in place of parmesan and I’m sitting in anticipation of eating like “yeah right.” But lo and behold, nutritional yeast does add a unique cheesy and nutty flavor. You can choose to leave this out of the recipe– personally, it doesn’t add much. But I’ll be sharing some vegan cheese recipes coming up, so it’s a crucial ingredient for that. You can find it at Whole Foods, Wegman’s, any specialty health food store. IMG_0712 IMG_0716 IMG_0717  IMG_0719Enjoy! As always, let me know if you try it and what you think! (Sorry for blurry last picture. As usual, I was just excited to eat)

One thought on “Edamame Pesto Recipe

Leave a Reply

