Vegan “Pulled Pork” with Homemade Barbecue Sauce

This recipe has been on my list of things to make for months and its time has finally come. Oyster mushrooms are used instead of pulled pork to make the same stringy-like texture. It’s obviously not exactly the same texture as real meat, but goood enough. Oyster mushrooms are a little hard to find, but gaining popularity. I got mine at Wegman’s and they cost me maybe $2-3 dollars, which could serve two people (the recipe calls for 1 pound and I bought about half a pound). I decided to make this tonight and last minute tried to invite someone to join me and taste test, but all my friends were busy. To be honest though, GOOD because I ate all of it. It was the first actually chilly fall day and this recipe has a bunch of good immunity boosting, sinus clearing ingredients like a garlic, ginger, onions, and apple cider vinegar. AND likely most of the ingredients are things you already have in the pantry, so you’ve got yourself a really cheap meal.

Alright, so I know when I go to blogs to look at a recipe, I’m like “I. Don’t. Care. About what you have to say just show me the recipe,” yet here I am rambling. Just gotta put in my two cents on sustainability. An article came out this week about the United Nations Environment Programme’s (UNEP) latest report that says a global shift towards a vegan diet is vital to save the world from hunger, and reduce fossil fuel consumption and the worst impacts of climate change. Learning about environmental impacts of meat consumption was my biggest driver to becoming vegetarian (disclaimer: I eat meat like twice a year, so I am technically flexitarian/pescatarian cause ya girl is from Maryland and loves crab cakes.) ANYWAY, one day I’ll get around to doing a post outlining what these impacts are, but for now, here are a few graphics from the documentary Cowspiracy, which is a fantastic, well-rounded documentary that I highly recommend despite its propaganda-y name.

That’s one meal a week. Add that up over a population and multiple times a week and we are in business (the business of saving water).



Booooo, greenhouse gases.

Now onto what you came here for:

I found the recipe from the video below, which is a bit long, so the typed out recipe is below that. I did not get the ingredients for the coleslaw in the video when I was at the store, so I cannot speak to that but it looks killer and would be a fantastic crunchy complement to your sandwich:

Ingredients:
– buns
– 1 pound oyster mushrooms
– 1/2 an onion, sliced
– olive oil
– 4 cloves garlic, minced
– 1 piece of candied ginger (< 1 tbs)
– 3/4 cup ketchup
– 1/4 cup maple syrup
– 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar (I thought this was wayyy too much vinegar, so I would modify to about 2 tablespoons)
– 1 tsp soy sauce
– 1 tbsp agave nectar (I used honey, but would recommend brown sugar for a more balanced flavor)
– 1 tsp paprika
– 1 tsp cayenne pepper
– 1 tsp mesquite seasoning (didn’t have this, left it out)
(you can also buy barbecue sauce if you’re pressed for time, thought total prep and cooking is probably 30 minutes)

  1. Use a fork to fray your mushrooms
    IMG_0759IMG_0762
  2. Set those aside and get started on your sauce, first browning the minced garlic and candied ginger (that adds a really unique flavor, but regualar ginger or no ginger will probably be fine) together in oil
    IMG_0766
  3. Add the ketchup and maple syrup and stir up to a simmer
  4. Add the apple cider vinegar, soy sauce, agave/honey/brown sugar, and spices. Continue to simmer
  5. Meanwhile, add your sliced onions to some oil. I added a bit of the sauce to my onions to caramelize them in barbecue sauce
  6. Once the onions are sufficiently cooked, add in the shredded mushrooms and let that cook down for about 10 minutes
  7. Add your sauce to your mushroom pan, stir, and then load up your bun.

IMG_0780Tell me that doesn’t look like pulled pork.

Leave a Reply

